Edit, eidt, edit…

Today I completed the FIRST read through of my 100,000-word biography of Henry Coombe-Tennant of Neath. It has taken me a couple of weeks at a leisurely pace and it is surprising how many typos you pick up and just how often you see a word that you immediately want to change for a different one!

I’ve noted all the changes in a printed copy of the text and I next have to make the changes in the Word document. That won’t take me too long…

After that, it’s a matter of checking that my quotes are accurate, plus a bit of fact and date checking. Beyond that, I have to complete the footnotes, sort out the index and decide which illustration goes where!

So, it’s a lot of work but I am well within my target. At the end of it all, my editor at Y Lolfa will give the work a professional edit and we’ll be ready to go to publication. That will be in 2021, Covid-19 virus permitting. The end of a long but very enjoyable road for me. But a true-life story of a remarkable man and his equally remarkable family that really needs to be out there. I can’t wait…

Leave a comment